skip to Main Content

Welcome

to the Website of L'Orfeo Barockorchester.

Please get in touch

Phone: +43 650 5057706

When this is then combined with a superior recorder virtuoso of the likes of Carin van Heerden it is utter bliss[…] Hearing the lightness and litheness of her playing and that of her ensemble, presenting this mixture of French and Italian elements, the listener can’t but bow down in reverence.
Klassik Heute, Christof Jetzschke

Carin van Heerden was born in Cape Town (South Africa). She studied the recorder with Günther Höller and Walter van Hauwe and the baroque oboe with Helmut Hucke. She won various international music competitions, among them the renowned international ARD competition in Munich (1988). Carin van Heerden is co-founder of the Austrian L’Orfeo Barockorchester, directed by Michi Gaigg, and works with this orchestra (also as soloist) in Europe and South Africa. She also worked with various other ensembles and orchestras conducted by Ton Koopman, Alan Curtis, Konrad Junghänel und Hermann Max. As a chamber musician she directs the L’Orfeo Wind Ensemble and is a member of the recorder consort Element of Prime. 

Solo CD’s of her playing have been released by cpo (Telemann and Myslivecek), Cavalli Records (Hotteterre) and Sony (Telemann).

She was professor at the Mozarteum in Salzburg from 1993-2004 and subsequently at the Cologne Musikhochschule until 2008. At present she teaches the baroque oboe and recorder at the Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität in Linz and headed the Institute for Early Music and Performance Practice there for the past 10 years. She is often invited as member of the jury at international competitions for Early Music and for master classes internationally.  

She is the artistic director of Early Music concerts at the Linz Castle and is the German translator of Bruce Haynes’ „Eloquent Oboe“. 

Back To Top
X

skip to Main Content

Willkommen

auf der Website von L'Orfeo Barockorchester.

Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf

Telefon: +43 650 5057706
Carin van Heerden

Kommt dann noch eine in allen Belangen überlegene Blockflötenvirtuosin wie Carin van Heerden dazu, so ist das Glück nahezu vollkommen. […] wie luftig und duftig Carin van Heerden und das von ihr geleitete Ensemble diese Musik voller französischer und italienischer Stilelemente ausarbeiten, davor kann man sich nur verneigen.
Klassik Heute, Christof Jetzschke

Carin van Heerden wurde in Kapstadt (Südafrika) geboren. Sie studierte Blockflöte bei Günther Höller und Walter van Hauwe sowie Barockoboe bei Helmut Hucke. Während ihrer Studienzeit gewann sie mehrere internationale Wettbewerbe, u. a. den renommierten internationalen ARD-Wettbewerb in Deutschland (1988). Sie ist Gründungsmitglied des L’Orfeo Barockorchesters (Leitung Michi Gaigg) und konzertiert mit diesem Orchester, auch als Solistin, in ganz Europa und in Südafrika. Carin van Heerden arbeitete außerdem mit verschiedenen Ensembles (Das Kleine Konzert, Cantus Cölln, Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin) und Dirigenten wie Ton Koopman, Alan Curtis, Konrad Junghänel und Hermann Max. Kammermusikalisch ist sie als Leiterin des L’Orfeo Bläserensembles tätig sowie als Mitglied des Blockflötenconsorts Element of Prime.

Solo-CDs ihres Spiels erschienen bei cpo (Telemann und Mysliveček), Cavalli Records (Hotteterre) und dhm/Sony Music (Telemann).

Carin van Heerden hatte eine Professur für Blockflöte an der Universität Mozarteum in Salzburg ab 1993 und anschließend von 2004 bis 2008 an der Musikhochschule Köln inne. Heute unterrichtet sie Barockoboe und Blockflöte an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität in Linz und leitete zehn Jahre lang das dortige Institut für Alte Musik und Historische Aufführungspraxis.

Von internationalen Wettbewerben für Alte Musik wird sie oft als Jurymitglied eingeladen und ist international gern gesehene Gastdozentin bei Meisterkursen.

Carin van Heerden ist künstlerische Leiterin der Linzer Landeskonzertreihe „Alte Musik im Schloss“ und übersetzte das bahnbrechende Buch „The eloquent oboe“ von Bruce Haynes.

Back To Top
X