Skip to content


to the Website of L'Orfeo Barockorchester.

Please get in touch

Phone: +43 650 5057706

La Confusione ed Il Rincontro

10Mai19:30La Confusione ed Il RincontroWels - Stadttheater Wels


Franz Xaver Richter:
Sinfonia in G minor BoeR 29 „Sinfonia con fuga“ for 2 oboes, 2 horns & strings

Giovanni Benedetto Platti:
Concerto in G major for oboe, strings & bc

Franz Xaver Richter:
Sinfonia in B flat major BoeR deest for strings
Sinfonia in F major op. 4 No. 2 BoeR 32 for 2 oboes, 2 horns & strings

Johann Sebastian Bach:
Concerto in D minor BWV 1043 for 2 violins, strings and bc

Franz Xaver Richter:
Sinfonia in G major op. 4 No. 6 BoeR 25 for 2 oboes, 2 horns and strings

Carin van Heerden, oboe
Julia Huber-Warzecha & Martin Jopp, violin
L’Orfeo Barockorchester
Michi Gaigg, conductor

The 18th century was a time of transition (not only in musical terms, but especially pronounced there) – from the Baroque to the Classical period, from contrapuntal-vertical to harmonic-horizontal thinking, from (predominantly) courtly to increasingly bourgeois music, from chamber and church to salon and concert hall. Born in 1709 in the Moravian town of Hollauschau, Franz Xaver Richter was a member of the first generation of the so-called “Mannheim School”, both by birth and by age, but during his artistic career, which he ended as Kapellmeister at Strasbourg Cathedral, he was considered more conservative than progressive. This may have been due to his particular penchant for the elevated art of fugue, which was to manifest itself in a large number of his works, including not only those for the church, but also numerous sonatas, string quartets, solo concertos and over 80 symphonies. That counterpoint – in accordance with the values of the time – was regarded as one of the greatest and most enduring achievements of Western musical art becomes clear at the latest when we take a closer look at some of the compositional details in the works of Haydn, Mozart or Beethoven that were considered particularly elaborate. Richter’s “Sinfonia con Fuga” is in no way inferior to these. Rather, like its sister works, it bears witness to a mastery that is unparalleled in terms of tension and inner drama and here enters into an eloquent dialogue with the gallant figurations and rococo-like ornamentation of a concerto by the Padua-born oboe virtuoso Giovanni Platti. There is also a moment of mutual movement away from and towards each other between the two protagonists of Bach’s famous Double Concerto or the Richter symphonic movements that conclude the two concerto sections and from which the title of this programme with the L’Orfeo Barockorchester is composed.


Dienstag, 10. Mai 2022 19:30

Back To Top