skip to Main Content


to the Website of L'Orfeo Barockorchester.

Please get in touch

Phone: +43 650 5057706

March 2021

14March19:0020:00PostponedBach!Oslo - Oslo CathedralDue to the current restrictions this concert had to be postponed.

Event Details

Johann Sebastian Bach:
Orchestra Suite No. 2 in b minor BWV 1067
Cantata “Ich habe genung” BWV 82.2
Concerto in A major for Oboe d’amore, Strings and B.c. BWV 1055a
Cantata “Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht” BWV 55

Anders J. Dahlin, tenor
Marcello Gatti, traverso
Carin van Heerden, oboe d’amore
L’Orfeo Barockorchester
Michi Gaigg, direction

In 1723 Johann Sebastian Bach became cantor at the Thomas Church in Leipzig, a position he held for 27 years until his death in 1750. Bach’s foremost task was to provide music on a weekly basis for the city’s four churches. It was during this period that he composed all the great Passions, the four cantata cycles, the B minor Mass and a number of other church music masterpieces. L’Orfeo Barockorchester, directed by Michi Gaigg, performs two cantatas written in the years 1726–1727: “Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht”, BWV 55 and “Ich habe genung”, BWV 82. Bach didn’t only compose church music during this period though: in fact, he wrote instrumental music, orchestral works, solo concerts and chamber music during his whole lifetime. In addition to all his obligations in Leipzig he also directed the weekly concert series of the Collegium Musicum that performed to a paying audience. A substantial amount of instrumental music was composed for these occasions. L’Orfeo Barockorchester performs the second Orchestral Suite (BWV 1067) and his Concerto in A major for oboe d’amore (BWV 1055a), better known for its later arrangement for harpsichord.


Sunday, 14. March 2021 19:00 - Sunday, 14. March 2021 20:00

Back To Top